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Using a Homestead Declaration 
to Protect Your Home from 
Creditors 
By Marsha A. Goetting, Ph.D., CFP®, CFCS, Professor and Extension Family 
Economics Specialist, and Keri Hayes, Publications Assistant, Montana 
State University-BozemanMontGuide
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BY SIGNING A LEGAL DOCUMENT KNOWN as a homestead 
declaration, Montanans can protect up to $350,000 in equity of 
their home against most unsecured debts. Equity is the difference 
between what an owner owes on a mortgage and the current 
value of the home. For example, if a homeowner had recorded a 
homestead declaration and then later incurred an overwhelming 
debt from medical bills, the owner has protection up to $350,000 
in equity of the home. This MontGuide answers questions residents 
have asked about the Montana homestead declaration.

How is “homestead” defined in Montana?
A homestead is the house a person lives in and land on 

which it stands. The home must be a person’s primary residence 
to be eligible for a homestead declaration. A mobile home or 
manufactured home is also eligible for a homestead declaration. 
The owner does not have own the land under which the mobile 
or manufactured home sets. However, the owner must reside 
on the premises.

The term homestead also includes any improvements legally 
defined as “appurtenances” to the land, such as a fence, separate 
garage, and wells used for domestic water use. However, the 
improvements cannot exceed the amount of the homestead 
declaration exemption--$350,000. Home furnishings and 
appliances are not eligible for the homestead declaration.

When did the increase in the Montana 
homestead declaration become effective?

The maximum value of a Montana homestead declaration 
is $350,000 as of May 10, 2021. The legal value of the property 
for figuring the equity held by the owner is the dollar value 
appearing on the current county assessment roll at the county 
treasurer’s office. 

The 67th Montana Legislature also passed a statute requiring 
the homestead declaration to increase by four percent every 
calendar year after 2021. In 2022 the homestead exemption will 
be $364,000; $378,560 in 2023; and $393,702 in 2024 and so on.

Do I have to refile my Montana homestead 
declaration if I filed one before May 10, 2021?

Not necessarily. Past Montana legislatures have provided 
increased values for the homestead declaration starting with 
$40,000; then $60,000; $100,000; and $250,000. If a person 
filed a homestead declaration under any of the prior exemptions 
and listed the actual amount, the person may be more comfortable 
filing a new homestead declaration for $350,000. Because of the 
continuing changes in the amount of the homestead declaration, 
most homestead declarations no longer list the dollar amount. 

What if the equity in my home exceeds the 
Montana homestead exemption?

If the value of equity in the home exceeds $350,000 for 
2021, creditors may request the district court judge to divide 
(partition) the land and sell part or all of it. The person who filed 
the homestead declaration has protection for the first $350,000 
in equity of the sale proceeds. These proceeds are exempt from 
unsecured creditor’s claims for 18 months.

Example 1: Joe owns a house with a value of $80,000 
with a $50,000 mortgage balance. Joe’s homestead declaration 
protects only the $30,000 equity Joe has in the house, even 
though the maximum exemption is $350,000 ($80,000 
value - $50,000 mortgage equity).

Example 2: Doug owns a home with a value of $425,000 
with a mortgage balance of $10,000. His equity in the home is 
$415,000 ($425,000 - $10,000 mortgage). Doug’s homestead 
declaration only protects up to $350,000 of his equity in 
the home. The remaining $65,000 is available to unsecured 
creditor’s claims ($415,000 equity - $350,000 exemption). 
Creditors could force the sale of Doug’s home to recover 
part or all the debt he owes them.
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Does the property title have an impact on the 
amount an individual has under the exemption 
for the Montana homestead declaration?

Yes. Montanans typically own property titled in one 
of three ways, as sole ownership, joint tenancy with right of 
survivorship and tenants in common. For more information see 
MSU Extension MontGuide: http://store.msuextension.org/
publications/FamilyFinancialManagement/MT198907HR.pdf 

If an owner has the title in sole ownership, the owner has 
the full $350,000 homestead exemption.

If a person is co-owner of real property titled as a tenant-
in-common, each has an undivided interest in the property as 
written on the deed or otherwise proportional if not specifically 
written. For example, if two people title their home as a tenant-in-
common, each owns one-half undivided interest unless the deed 
shows a different proportion, such as Jim owns 75% and Sally 
owns 25%. If a tenant-in-common files a homestead declaration, 
the exemption amount is proportional to the undivided interest 
each owns.

Example 3: Debbie and Mike own a home as tenants-
in-common. The value of the home is $90,000. They have 
$50,000 as the remaining balance on the mortgage. Their 
combined equity in the home is $40,000. Debbie has an 
undivided interest of ½ ($20,000) and Mike has an undivided 
interest of ½ ($20,000) ($90,000 value - $50,000 remaining 
balance on loan = $40,000 combined equity ÷ 2 = $20,000). 
The amount of equity they can protect against creditor claims 
is their undivided interest of $20,000 each. Mike and Debbie 
each would need to file a homestead declaration.

If the title is in joint tenancy with right of survivorship, 
then any of the joint owners have the full exemption of $350,000. 
However, all owners must sign the homestead declaration, the 
deeds, and any related property documents such as a mortgage, 
in the same way. 

Example 4: Heather and Noah own a home with a 
value of $150,000 as joint tenants with right of survivorship. 
They live in the home. They signed the deed and title to their 
home as Heather Ann Mason and Noah Lee Mason, so they 
signed the homestead declaration the same way.

They have $50,000 as the remaining balance on the mortgage. 
Their joint equity in the home is $100,000 ($150,000 value of 
home - $50,000 balance on loan). The amount of equity either 
Heather or Noah can protect against unsecured creditor claims 
is $100,000.

If a couple is married, should both sign the 
Montana homestead declaration?

Yes. Under Montana property law, a spouse acquires an interest 
in property at marriage unless there is a premarital agreement 
to the contrary. Even though a spouse’s name may not appear 
on the deed or other documents of title, the spouse has a “legal 
interest” in the property because of the marriage. For this reason, 
both spouses should sign the homestead declaration. If one spouse 
does not sign, that spouse’s interest in the property is not exempt 
from unsecured creditor’s claims.

Does my Montana homestead declaration 
need to be refiled if a joint tenant passes 
away?

Not necessarily. When owners title real property in 
joint tenancy with right of survivorship, the property passes 
automatically to the surviving joint tenant or tenants upon death 
of one of the joint tenants. Even if the deceased person had written 
a will naming someone other than the surviving joint tenant to 
receive the real property, the property automatically transfers by 
Montana law to the surviving joint tenant. 

The surviving joint tenant can file with the county clerk 
and recorder a document, Affidavit of Surviving Joint Tenant to 
Terminate Joint Tenancy Interest of Decedent to reflect this change 
in title in the property records. 

https://www.montana.edu/estateplanning/
affadavittoterminatejointtenancyform.pdf 

The surviving joint tenant may also wish to file the affidavit 
to make future transfers easier for heirs (persons who inherit real 
and personal property under intestate succession statutes to the 
property of a person who died) or devisees (persons listed in a 
will to receive real or personal property). 

This procedure allows the surviving joint tenant to own the 
property in sole ownership. If the joint tenancy owners originally 
filed a homestead declaration under any of the prior exemptions 
and listed the dollar amount, the person may be more comfortable 
filing a new homestead declaration for the $350,000.   

Where can a homeowner find a Montana 
homestead declaration form? 

The Montana Legal Developer program with Aging Services 
has granted MSU Extension permission to provide a form here. 
https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/familyeconomics/
homsteaddeclaration-fillableform.pdf.  An attorney can also give 
legal advice about a Montana homestead declaration and supply 
proper documents. 

http://store.msuextension.org/publications/FamilyFinancialManagement/MT198907HR.pdf
http://store.msuextension.org/publications/FamilyFinancialManagement/MT198907HR.pdf
https://www.montana.edu/estateplanning/affadavittoterminatejointtenancyform.pdf
https://www.montana.edu/estateplanning/affadavittoterminatejointtenancyform.pdf
https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/familyeconomics/homsteaddeclaration-fillableform.pdf
https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/familyeconomics/homsteaddeclaration-fillableform.pdf
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Where is a Montana homestead declaration 
filed? 

A property owner files the homestead declaration form with 
the clerk and recorder’s office in the county where the home, 
mobile, or manufactured home is located. 

What is the cost of filing a Montana 
homestead declaration?

The recording fee for a homestead declaration is $8 per page 
in 2021. Check with the Clerk and Recorder in the county where 
the property is to verify the recording fees, since the Montana 
legislature changes them from time to time.

 If the homestead declaration does not meet the requirements 
of the office of the clerk and recorder, it is “non-standard.” The 
cost is $8 per page plus $10 per document during 2021. 

As an example of requirements, in the upper left-hand corner 
of the first page, the owner should list the name and mailing 
address of the person to whom the clerk and recorder should 
return the homestead declaration. If no return address appears 
in the upper left-hand corner, then the document is non-standard 
and the extra fee applies. 

The declaration must also have a statement that the person 
signing it resides on the premises and claims it as a homestead. 
There are other requirements about the margin, color of 
ink, and size of paper. Additional details about the standard 
format are available in the Montana Codes Annotated https://
leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0070/chapter_0040/part_0260/
section_0360/0070-0040-0260-0360.html 

The declaration must include a complete legal description 
of the property. The legal description is on the deed or abstract 
to the real estate. If a person does not accurately describe the 
property in the homestead declaration, then it may not be valid. 
For example, a street address, using abbreviations, or a description 
from the tax bill are not legal descriptions. 

What are the circumstances when a Montana 
homestead declaration does not protect 
equity in a home from creditors?

 There are specific instances in which the Montana Legislature 
decided it would be unjust to allow a homestead exemption. For 
example, if a creditor obtains a judgment against a homeowner 
before the filing of a homestead declaration, then the declaration 
does not protect up to $350,000 in equity. If an owner uses the 
property as collateral for a loan, the homestead declaration does 
not apply.

If a homeowner does not pay for services performed or supplies 
provided, the person who repairs or performs other work on a 
home or who supplies materials can legally place a “lien” against  

a home with the county clerk and recorder. The homestead 
declaration does not provide protection in such cases.

A financial institution holding a mortgage on the home also 
has a lien against the home for any unpaid balance. A homestead 
declaration does not protect owners who fail to make payments 
on their mortgages. Nor does the homestead declaration provide 
protection if an owner does not pay property taxes or special or 
rural assessments (SIDs or RIDs).

A person considering bankruptcy should seek legal counsel 
for when and how to claim a homestead exemption filed before 
a bankruptcy proceeding began.

As a part of the Medicaid Estate and Recovery Program, 
the State of Montana could also file a lien on the property of a 
homeowner for whom Medicaid paid medical costs. The lien is 
for Medicaid payments made on behalf of the person receiving 
care in the nursing home. If a lien exists, the owner or the heirs 
must pay the amount of the lien before the owner can sell or 
transfer the property.

For information about the Medicaid Lien and Estate Recovery 
Program, contact the address below and ask for the following 
publication:

Montana Lien & Estate Recovery Program (SLTC-011)
DPHHS – QAD TPL Unit
2401 Colonial Drive, 2nd Floor
PO Box 202953
Helena, MT 59620-2953z
1-800-694-3084
Download publication at: https://

medicaidprovider.mt.gov/docs/nursingfacility/SLTC-
011MTMedicaidLienEstateRecoveryProg.pdf 

How can I undo a Montana homestead 
declaration?

In the case of a divorce, a couple may wish to undo the 
declaration. Or, an individual may decide to sell one home, 
invest the proceeds in a new home, and then file a homestead 
declaration on the new home. A couple may also decide to move 
to a new residence and keep their former home as a rental unit.

A homestead can be “undone” by a declaration of 
abandonment. If married, both husband and wife must 
acknowledge the “abandonment.” A declaration of abandonment 
is effective only if the owners record it in the county clerk and 
recorder’s office in which they recorded the original homestead 
declaration. A form for declaration of abandonment of a homestead 
declaration is here: (https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/
familyeconomics/homesteaddeclarationabandonmentform.pdf

If a Montana homeowner files a homestead declaration, up to 
$350,000 of the homeowner’s equity in the home, mobile home 
or manufactured home can be protected against most unsecured 
creditor’s claims as of May 10, 2021. The owner completes, signs, 
and has the Montana homestead declaration notarized. The owner 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0070/chapter_0040/part_0260/section_0360/0070-0040-0260-0360.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0070/chapter_0040/part_0260/section_0360/0070-0040-0260-0360.html
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/mca/title_0070/chapter_0040/part_0260/section_0360/0070-0040-0260-0360.html
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/docs/nursingfacility/SLTC-011MTMedicaidLienEstateRecoveryProg.pdf
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/docs/nursingfacility/SLTC-011MTMedicaidLienEstateRecoveryProg.pdf
https://medicaidprovider.mt.gov/docs/nursingfacility/SLTC-011MTMedicaidLienEstateRecoveryProg.pdf
https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/familyeconomics/homesteaddeclarationabandonmentform.pdf
https://www.montana.edu/extensionecon/familyeconomics/homesteaddeclarationabandonmentform.pdf
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then files the document in the office of the clerk and recorder in 
the county in which the home is located. If married, both spouses 
should sign the declaration and live on the property.
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Disclaimer 
This MontGuide is based on current homestead declaration 

statutes and examples are for illustration purposes only. The reader 
should not interpret information provided in this MontGuide 
as legal or accounting advice, which may vary based upon the 
reader’s specific circumstances. 

https://leg.mt.gov/bills/2021/sesslaws/ch0442.pdf
https://leg.mt.gov/bills/2021/sesslaws/ch0442.pdf
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